The inaugural post

integrity

When I was tasked with creating and maintaining a blog as part of the continuing studies course I’m enrolled in, all of me began screaming a resounding no.

The voice in my head, which I’ve become way too acquainted with over the years, came up with every excuse it could to fill me with dread and doubt:

“Who’s going to want to hear what I have to say?”

“No one will read it!”

“OMG people are going to read my thoughts. I need to crawl into a hole and hide!”

Well, given that I’m taking a course and this blog is worth 60% of the final grade, the choice between getting an excellent grade and failing is not much of a choice for a self-admitted keener, and someone who has made a conscious decision to do her best in every situation I find myself in.

Truth be told, I’ve always wanted to create a blog, and I’ve always allowed the excuses to get in the way. Maybe that just means those times were not the time and now this one is.

After I accepted the fact that I had to – wait, time to change the dialogue – that I want to create this blog, the voice in my head had another predicament to noodle: What was the blog going to be about?

I’m well known to have an opinion or two or 10 – my family, friends and colleagues can attest to that. A shortage of words is really not my thing. What is my thing is being who I am unapologetically, living my values, and doing my best to “walk my talk”, and boy can I get passionate about it!

Living with integrity is a life’s pursuit. It’s how I want to show up in the world as a partner, mother, daughter, friend, leader in my organization or whatever hat I may be wearing at any given time.

Living with integrity is not perfection. In fact, it’s more about embracing imperfection. It takes courage, and it can be downright scary. It’s my way of being the change I wish to see in the world. I think Gandhi was on to something!

This is not at all how I planned on crafting this first blog post. The original was coming up a bit dry and clinical, and didn’t feel or sound quite like me. Then earlier today, I came across a blog post by Social Media Strategist Marji J. Sherman titled “Approach Social Media Like You Have Nothing To Lose” and in it she writes:

“Step through your fear of social media judgment, and find your own social media voice… Act like you have nothing to lose.”

Shortly after that, this post was born.

I hope you will join me as I share my experience and explore the topic of living with integrity.

6 thoughts on “The inaugural post

  1. I can relate to this blog on several different levels. To begin, I had doubts about the blog as well, but not the content. I was worried about a lot of the technical aspects of setting up the blog. I have also been travelling a lot recently for work and could not give it the time I though twas necessary. Thankfully, I am closing up this gap and feel a lot better know. As far as integrity is concerned,there have been so many times in my life I could have done what everybody else was doing. But, instead did what I knew was right.
    This path is always more difficult. It is also more rewarding. Unfortunately, most personal development is gained through dealing with struggle and hardship. I admire your efforts to take this path.

    Like

    • Thank you, Richard! And you are right. A lot of personal development comes from learning from difficult circumstances, and it takes a lot of energy and time and emotion, but it’s certainly worth it!

      I also worried about the technical aspects of the blog, and like you, have struggled a bit with balancing work and writing. I finally feel like I’m getting into a groove, and I hope you are too.

      Like

Leave a Reply

