Be the change – part 2: Go out and vote!

My Vote

Tomorrow – Monday, October 27, 2014 – is election day in Toronto, Brampton, London, Barrie, Ottawa and pretty much every other city and town in Ontario.

It’s a day many have been waiting for. Will the soap opera of the Ford reign come to an end? I don’t have to provide a hyperlink on this one. Everyone in the world knows what I mean!

Will Brampton see a change in leadership with Mayor Susan Fennell caught in quite the spending scandal? What is it that they say? Fool me once, it’s your fault. Fool me twice, it’s mine. Fool me a possible 200+ times?

After 36 years of being mayor of Mississauga, who will replace the unstoppable Hazel McCallion, now retiring at the age of 93? Talk about persistence and determination (and being blessed with good health)!

These are only some of the questions that will be answered tomorrow, and for those of us in Ontario, we can be part of what exactly those answers turn out to be. All we have to do is go out and vote! It’s one of the easiest ways we can have our say and be the change, choosing leaders we feel have the best plan, attitude and interests of our city/town at heart.

Being a political nerd, I’ve had many debates with many people about politicians, political parties and elections. I know how easy it is to become disengaged, apathetic and desensitized by politicians who get involved in scandals and demonstrate a lack of accountability and integrity. I also know that if we don’t vote, we give up our voice, our choice. Why complain when things aren’t working out?

Voting is one of our most fundamental democratic rights. In many parts of the world, we have seen people risk their lives, and sadly, lose their lives, to gain the right to vote. We have seen people on the news who are willing to die for the right to vote – to have a say! Many of us will not know or cannot fathom what it’s like to live in such a place of desperation, because we don’t have to. Because people before us fought for that right, preserved that right. All we have to do is take our voter registration card to our nearest voting station and exercise our right.

If you don’t know who to vote for, check out your city or town’s website. It will have a section dedicated to voting, a list of candidates and more information about them, and places and times you can vote.

If you need more reasons on why you should vote, Elections Canada has compiled a simple list on its website.

May the best candidates win!

10 thoughts on “Be the change – part 2: Go out and vote!

  1. I live in Mississauga and Hurrican Hazel has been our mayor since before I was born so it was strange and a bit sad seeing a ballot without her name on it. What’s impressive is that while she’s retiring she has no intentions of slowing down. She’s an incredible lady. Unlike others, I enjoy the voting process. I like knowing that I get a say in my cities future. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Heather! I caught a bit of Hazel on Rogers Community TV during its results show and she just has so much energy! It’s amazing what she’s been able to do and what she plans to continue doing. Outside of Toronto, voter turnout hovered just over 30% of eligible voters, so there’s a lot of work to be done to get people engaged. Keep up the enthusiasm! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Great post! I’m also encouraging people to go out and vote. if you don’t vote, then you can’t complain. I too, closely followed the Mississauga, Brampton and Toronto mayoral races.

    P.S. Long live Hurricane Hazel! Born and raised under her leadership 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I agree with everything you said. I actually had a conversation with someone explaining why I changed my mind as to who I was going to vote for. I had decided before I wanted to vote for this person just because I didn’t want the other candidate to win! I thought about it and realized I live in a country where I have the opportunity to vote when so many people do not. I should and will vote for someone I really want and not be “Scared” into voting for someone else just because of what may happen!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

