Hello there, [insert fear/insecurity]. I’d like to get to know you.

wpid-wp-1415742696229.jpeg

Our fears and insecurities have whatever power we give them. They lose their power, however, when we face them, head-on. I don’t advocate that this is an easy path – it most certainly is not. What it is though is an incredibly rewarding endeavour that serves to empower us and strengthen our character.

Just as we draw upon our strengths to help us to reach our goals and achieve our dreams, we can also draw upon our fears and insecurities to learn more about who we are in support of our pursuit of those goals and dreams.

When we take a good look at our fears and insecurities, we learn what they’re made of. And actually, we learn what we’re made of. We learn that we are the creators of our own fears and insecurities, and as such, we have the intrinsic ability to change them.

Having been on the path of personal development for some time now, I’ve learned that fears and insecurities don’t fully go away. Old ones morph. New ones emerge. Accepting that makes life a little easier.

What I’m grateful for is that in facing my own fears and insecurities, I’ve gained insight into what triggers them, how I act when I’m triggered (the answer would be irrationally), what support I need when I’m feeling fearful or insecure, and most importantly, being able to communicate this with the people in my life to enhance my relationships.

Here are some other benefits to getting to know our fears and insecurities:

  • Resolve conflict more effectively. When we know what our triggers are and how we behave when we’re triggered, we can better understand our role in a conflict. We can use this information to open up a dialogue and work towards a resolution.
  • Prevent self-sabotage. Self-sabotage is a by-product of fear and insecurity. When we become knowledgeable of our fears and insecurities, we’ll be less likely to trip ourselves up.
  • Enhance resilience. When we face our fears and insecurities, we become stronger and we own our power. We exercise our ability to overcome obstacles and achieve success.
  • Live more fully. Fears and insecurities constrain us. Facing them gives us the opportunity to live life more fully and freely, and with enthusiasm!

Have you taken on a fear or insecurity lately? What did you learn? Share your insights in the comments below.

6 thoughts on “Hello there, [insert fear/insecurity]. I’d like to get to know you.

  1. For me, driving in unfamiliar places has been a long-standing fear, and I mean the anxiety-inducing, shaking hands, breaking out in a cold sweat kind of fear. A few months ago I decided to take my mom to see her grandson (my nephew) in Atlanta- a six hour drive that ends in busy city traffic. I initially intended to drive a short distance for the less busy leg of the trip. I ended up driving the full six hours there, and a few days later the full six hours back home. What started out as shaking my nerves to the core turned into an empowering win! Now I feel confident enough to jump in the car and head out again soon. Thanks for the insightful post- facing our fears does indeed allow us to live more fully and freely! Best, Karen 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve always tried to employ the philosophy of confronting fears. For me, one of my biggest was stage fright/insecurity. I used to walk with my head down because I was too intimidated to face the world, and only realized this fact when I discovered a tan line. On my FACE! So, I pushed myself into taking drama in high school to tackle this. And recently, when I felt the edges of those insecurities creeping back in – I decided it was time to hit the stage and strut in a bikini for 3 fitness competitions. My though process being that if I could face a crowd and judges wearing the tiniest bikini imaginable while trying to convey strength and sex appeal, then I could do ANYTHING. LOL

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

